

## Dianne Feinstein 100 plus Committee

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 9, 2023

San Francisco, CA

## COMMITTEE OF 100 PLUS CIVIC LEADERS CALLS FOR FEINSTEIN LEGACY TRIBUTE:

PROCESS BEGINS TO NAME SAN FRANCISCO'S INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT TERMINAL IN HER HONOR

The Dianne Feinstein 100 plus Committee, chaired by former San Francisco Mayor and former California Assembly Speaker Willie L. Brown, Jr., today announced a campaign to salute the remarkable legislative achievements enacted by U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein during her nearly 32 years in the Senate.

The campaign recognizes her outstanding leadership in urban stability during tumultuous times, confronting and coping humanely with the AIDS epidemic, as well as instituting significant environmental improvements that protect the Mojave Desert and Lake Tahoe.

"It's time to pay homage and to say Thank You to a woman leader who broke barriers and glass ceilings galore throughout her 45-year public service career," Brown declared.

"From her restoration of public confidence and urban calming following the Moscone-Milk assassinations in San Francisco in 1978, to her impressive efforts to work with the gay and lesbian community and public health workers to stop the AIDS epidemic in the 1980s, her skillful bipartisan leadership that passed the nation's first assault weapons' ban in 1994, and her wake-up revelatory 2014 Intelligence Committee Report on the CIA's Torture Program, Dianne Feinstein's public services leadership made —and continues to make to this day—dramatic differences that have enhanced our nation's, our State's and our city's quality of life."

In addition to these important legislative achievements, and among many other vital initiatives, U.S. Senator Feinstein also authored the Senate version of the Respect for Marriage Act signed into law in 2022 that repealed the discriminatory Defense of Marriage Act, as well as won reauthorization through 2027 of the bipartisan Violence Against Women Act that protects women from domestic violence and sexual assault.

"Our committee of 100 plus prominent San Franciscans and Californians, whose names are listed in the attachment below, include Mayor London Breed, as well as former San Francisco Mayors Art Agnos, Frank Jordan, Mark Farrell and myself," Brown added. "The Committee reflects our nation's cornucopia of diverse community leaders who represent the full spectrum of businesses, the arts, education and policy makers. As leaders, policy-makers, former City Supervisors and Commissioners, U.S Senate and Mayoral staff, and department heads, who worked closely with her throughout her stellar career; Committee members admire, and stand in awe of, Dianne Feinstein's accomplishments over nearly five decades of outstanding public services.

That is why we announce today our quest to name San Francisco Airport's International Terminal the Dianne Feinstein International Terminal— to carry her name through future generations. A model of sensible, centrist governmental decisiveness and determination, whose integrity, unwavering commitment to excellence, gender equality and fairness to all, Dianne Feinstein's distinguished public services' career proves what a difference an exceptionally sensitive and skillful leader can and does make," Brown said.

While the Dianne Feinstein 100 plus Committee began working on this legacy naming project several months ago, Senator Feinstein's sudden passing galvanized the Committee to move forward immediately to obtain the unanimous support of the San Francisco Airport Commission to rename San Francisco Airport's International Terminal after her at its earliest opportunity.

The Dianne Feinstein's 100 plus Committee is launching a new web site, (diannefeinsteinforever.org) to provide ongoing information about this campaign effort to establish the Dianne Feinstein International Terminal at San Francisco International Airport.

For further information, please contact William Strawn, Telephone 415/535-0957, or via email at wsanfranstrawn@gmail.com.

###

## Honorable Willie L. Brown Jr., Chairman

Shallow Absilon	Clothilde Hewlett	David Rees
Shelley Abajian		
Mayor Art Agnos ret.	Laurel Hilbert Tom Horn	Clint Reilly
Timothy Armistead		Janet Reilly
Diego Barajas	Dolores Huerta	Louise Renne
Fred Blackwell	Candace Hull	Fred Rodriguez
Angela Bradstreet	Ann Huerta Mora	Shauna Rose
Mayor London Breed	Ralph Hurtado	Ed Rothman
Susan Brissenden-Smith	Hazel Jones	Frances Rothman
George Broder	Mayor Frank Jordan ret.	Stefanie Roumeliotes
Rev. Amos Brown	Mark Kadesh	Adam Russell
Geoff Brown	Margaret Kisliuk	Denise Sahatdjian
Mayor Willie L. Brown, Jr ret.	Will Klink	Alberto Sanchez
Florence Bryce	Steve LaPlante	James Sauls
Jim Buick	Ann Lazarus	Barbara Schraeger
CA Senate President John L.	Jim Lazarus	Alexis Segal
Burton ret.	Mel Lee	Deanna Segal
Corey Busch	Daniel Leonardini	Mike Semler
Art Carter	Ayala Lopez	Edwin Sevilla
Jeanette Christian	Joan Lubamersky	CA Secretary of State
Lisa Christensen	Alan Lubliner	Kevin Shelley ret.
Carlota Del Portillo	John Martin	Larry Simi
Sean Elsbernd	Rep. Doris Matsui	Naomi Song
Rep. Anna Eshoo	Debbie Mesloh	Rep. Jackie Speier ret.
Dick Evans	Amy Meyer	Supervisor Catherine Stefani
Florence Fang	Leslie Miko	Bill Strawn
Mayor Mark Farrell ret.	Jim Molinari	Raymond Sullivan
Ellie Feder	Jack Molinari	John Thiella
Chesna Foord	Sue Molinari	Chris Thompson
Andrew Fuentes	Geneva Monteleone	Rep. Mike Thompson
Bob Gamble	Maria C. Morales	Zac Vaden
Lou Giraudo	Jeff Mori	Alex Vaughn
Jim Gonzalez	Sandy Mori	Gwynned Vitello
Nina Groeneveld	Peter Muller	John Watts
Noah Griffin	Eric Oginsky	Rev. Cecil Williams
Joe Grubb	Speaker Emerita Nancy Pelosi	Ryan Williams
Almir Guimaraes	Paul Pelosi	Bill Witte
Kay Gulbengay	Tammy Pham	Jim Wunderman
Ed Harrington	Ed Phipps	Monique Zmuda
Jessica Hartzell	Camille Pon	(partial list-updates to follow)
Joanne Hayes-White	Nancy Corinne Prowda	
······································		